Foundations

debgreen

Hi, I am using Suite 2018 with Mac High Sierra.

I'm having two problems with foundations.  I've read all the help screens and forums and whatever tutorials I could find and I'm still having trouble. 

First problem is  I cannot get the garage and parking slab to generate without the foundation height.  I've changed all the dimensions and heights but I can't get it to work.  Both are attached to the house.  I haven't put the 3-step landing in yet, is that the problem? Haven't got to learning stairs yet.  I read on the forums that one has to remove the attached garage and carport from the house in order to change the foundation but I still can't get it to work.  

Second problem is  I CANNOT get the house and foundation to show together.  I either get the foundation floating in mid-air or the house floating in mid-air.  

Advice is greatly appreciated.  While I have been using design programs for 10 years, I am a beginner with Home Designer.  Many thanks.

Each camera type as well as plan views have their own Display Options dialog. That means that the foundation may show in plan views but not show in the various camera views, each object group has an alphabetically assigned "layer" that controls whether or not any object group displays or not depending upon the camera type used. This is explained in the Users guide and Reference Manual but if not carefully studied can easily be missed.

Foundations in Home Designer software are purely cosmetic in nature unless you happen to be a State Licensed Structural Engineer who can legally design them. In terms of the floor height, that is controlled in the Local Room Specification Dialog - Structure Tab - Floor Height input box. Commonly the garage has the lowest floor height of the first floor, otherwise one would have to build a ramp to enter the garage from the grade.