mariodajti

Rail Posts/Newels on Porch

Hello,

I am trying to create a porch with railings and posts and I am having a hard time manually adding the posts to the rail. I literally tried everything. I am new to the program, so I am trying to learn everything as I go along and with watching videos, but I can't find anything on how to manually add a post to a rail. I am using a 3D symbol post, but even if I use posts from the Chief Architect library it still shows the baluster sticking out of the post. I used the "Point to Point Move" tool too and the baluster from the rail is still sticking out. I am using "Turned Barcelone" fence/rail from the Home Designer Core Catalog. Does somebody have any idea on how to manually add the post to the rail? I turned the newel/post option off because even if I turn it on, I want to use my own symbol and I don't want the newel/post to be right next to the baluster.

Answers often depend on which title (Suite, Pro etc) and version (2018, 2019 etc) you are using.

You can help everyone by adding that info to your signature (see below for how to turn them on) by clicking on your user name at the top right of the page, click Account Settings, then Signature on the left.

Doing so makes it always available, and keeps others from having to hunt for it.

And, turn on signature display too.

SIG.thumb.jpg.af17109346e9446432098056e258623d.jpg

----

Resources for self help:

The built in Help System (always a good place to start)

A railing does not know you are adding post manually.

It is a lot easier to place posts (AKA Newels) by way of the "Wall Specification Dialog - Rail Style Tab - Post to Beam" setting. then you vary the spacing of the Posts (aka Newels) by way of the "Input Box" for "Newel Spacing" to add or subtract newels and their spacing one newel to the other.