Trouble getting roof addition to line up with existing ridge

thebeedubya

Go to solution Solved by solver,

Hi everyone.  long time stalker here.  

I am translating my blue prints into a Home Designer Pro 2024 on Mac.  I am having issues trying to get the roof planes to align and manually mucking with it is not yielding me any results that I want.  The exitsting house has a 18' roof ridge that i need to match the rear addition to.

image.thumb.png.f7066653d92b0830ae75eeb3818616d8.png

Home Designer is bringing the roof ridge too low on the plane and is doing some weird things with the eves.  I am somewhat new to the software and I am sure it is all due to me being unskilled so I am hoping all of you out there can give me some guidance on what I need to do to make this right

The other issue that I am having is creating the attic into living space.  I have added the second level as per the tech note, but when I try to open up the stairwell, it says that a floor is missing.

Attached are my HDP 2024 files.  This is a work in progress so please don't beat on me too hard.  :)

Thanks!
Brad

Home Designer Pro 2024

Macbook Pro M3

Mac OS 14.3.1

2217Lindell_2.plan.zip

The software does not do anything on its own, rather it is programmed to follow programmed orders-commands or settings that exist or changed and set or not by its end user per session. So if the settings are wrong that is what you then get. Mastering this datum is key to mastering this software: find the improper settings, correct them and have success.

I have also observed that it takes longer to straighten  out a missed up plan compared to one that was done properly and insequence.

Learn all of the settings for roofs that are to be found in the "Build Roof Dialog - Roof Styles" tab for most common settings for auto-building roofs. Ceiling heights and also an important settings so they match your roof plate heights and your room ceiling heights.

DJP

Eric.  Amazing.  My roof now lines up.