Foundations for internal load bearing walls

ChiefUserJaybeuu

Hi

I'm a self builder in the UK and I got hold of the trial version of HB Pro to see whether it'll support the way we build houses here.  I've encountered quite a few difficulties and I suspect this will be the first of many posts and I hope the good folk on this forum will be able to help.

For reference I attach a pdf that shows the way that houses are typically built in the UK so you know where I'm coming from.

I have an internal load bearing wall that requires foundations.  In HD Pro I defined defaults for external walls, internal walls and foundations.  I drew the external and internal walls for floor 1 and the foundations were built for the external wall but no foundations for the internal wall.  I manually added foundations under the internal wall and aligned them, but the problem is that the internal wall and the foundations are not attached - the wall is built on top of the first floor and not directly on foundations.  See attached pics.  Can anyone pls advise how I can built the internal wall directly on its target foundation?

Note that I have tried defining the internal wall as a foundation wall but then I couldn't get the structure of the foundation to be the same as the foundations for the external wall (i.e. same depth of concrete fill, same height of stem wall).

Thx

Jon

post-7628-0-83922500-1465031278_thumb.jpg

post-7628-0-21211400-1465031280_thumb.jpg

Typical UK Wall & Floor Structure.pdf

Here in the USA no one is allowed to specifically design foundations except State licensed Structural Engineers. That said if you want to draw grade beams (foundation walls that support interior walls) you turn on the "reference floor display" so you can see the first floor walls in reference and then using the wall tool, draw in your required grade beams to support interior walls. It is simple and straight forward.

DJP