Client Pricing

MonroeR

Hello, 

I am a self employed carpenter (20 years experience) who primarily buys, remodels and sells homes. I have been using chief architect (2019 home designer architectural) for several years now to do “as built” and, most importantly, the 3D 

renderings of what I want the finished product to look like. 

I have really enjoyed using the program and am in the process of starting a side gig designing and selling custom home plans. I’ve done a few free ones for friends of mine to get acclimated to working with clients and am now working with my first paying customer. I have a couple of questions. 
   First of all how should I approach pricing? Initially I priced it at 75 cents a square ft for plans and 3D. What I hadn’t factored in is I had plan 1 about 50% done when they decided they wanted a different plan. I had plan 2 about 75% done and they decided they wanted a completely different layout. I have plan 3 almost completed and they love it but now decided they can’t afford it and want a plan for a smaller home.

Is it normal to have to do multiple plans before they settle on one? Is there a point in the project where if they want to scratch it and go with a different plan I need to charge extra? Should I just charge by the hour? I’m sure some of it is due to my inexperience in the home designing field.

Side note:

Part of my plan with doing the home designing is to be able to slow down on the carpentry side of things. My body is starting to let me know I can’t do this forever and I’m wanting to get into something less physically demanding. Would you recommend home designing or should I look elsewhere? Pros? Cons?

Long winded, I know. Any info is much appreciated.