Large 2016 HD Pro Files Run Slow

TCHIDACON

I've been a user of Chief Architect HD Pro versions 2014/2015/2016 and run the application on a high end gaming PC notebook with 16G of memory. 

Off and on over the last 3 years I've been working on a site development plan.  I've noticed as the plan has reached its point of completion in the last 2 months the file has been running progressively slower.  The problem became most apparent once the terrain data was adjusted, with the insertion of elevation and section views into the floor plan.

The plan is somewhat complex with 3 structures in including a 2 storey house with basement, a detached garage built slab on grade and 1.5 storey detached workshop with secondary suite in a mezzanine above the workshop floor.  The site has sloped terrain which allows for the development of a three level walkout  From the house main floor at the top of the slope, form secondary suite midway down the slope, and from the workshop floor at the bottom of the slope (see the attached 3d perspective view). 

I've read posts from 2015 that identified a similar problems but there was no real determination how to rectify the problem.

Has anyone drilled down on the problem further to determine any potential solutions? 

Also I'm wondering if I've tapped out the Home Designer Pro software application reaching its  resource limit, in particular for 3d rendering.  And if so would upgrading to the Architect X8 product solve the problem.

Thanks, PH 3D Perspective West View - Plan Date Mar 15, 2016.pdf     

The more complex the plan the more 3D faces that have to be located per second. Anything but a super computer will tend to slow down under a heavier load, it is just a matter of physics and is to be expected. There may be some not obvious reason but I would have to have a copy of the file to explore hidden causes. The first consideration is size and complexity.

DJP

• Downvote 1

Hi David,