Unable to merge stair sections for winder corner

HarstineSteve

Hello,

I have HD Pro 9.0.  I've been using it for several years off and on.  Three years ago I got my HD Pro house design permitted.  It's framed, dried in and I'm now working on HVAC ducts.  You could call this house a 'bucket list' project.

I'm trying to use HD Pro on a different project now -- a remodel, where I need to tuck some basement-to-first story stairs around a corner, using winders instead of a landing at the corner, in order to get enough treads into the available length. 

I'm trying to follow the instructions offered at http://www.homedesignersoftware.com/support/article/KB-00486/.

The trouble is that I cannot get the stair sections to "merge" as they do in the instructions.  I have no trouble getting sections to merge if I click to create a landing, but I don't want a landing;  I need winders.  HD 9.0 doesn't look exactly like what the instructions show;  when you drag out a stair section it has no round 'handle' at the top as shown in the instructions.  Each end-to-end stair section I create remains separate.  A camera shows that each begins again at the ground level, instead of at the height the previous one ended.  When I open a section I see just the specification dialog for that section, rather than for all of the sections together in the same dialog, numbered 1, 2, ...

Is there a trick I need to know?  Or a bug in HD Pro 9.0?  I can paste in some images if the situation isn't clear.

thanks for any suggestions - Steve

Not a bug, just something that you have to be very precise and plodding with. The key is precise placement of stair objects, one to another in both plan view and in the "Z" axis (relative height). That and practice will help you arrive, there are no tips or tricks other than making sure all settings are correct and that spacial locations are perfect.

DJP