Home Designer Suite 2021 - Build Gable Roof Over Porch

Rpan127

Hi everyone. I just bought this software today. I am a drafter/designer by trade with a little bit of Revit experience and a lot of AutoCAD Map 3D/Civil 3D experience.

So far I'm enjoying this software and I can see myself using it for all kinds of DIY projects. However I am having some trouble with my roof line.

My house is somewhat L shaped (see the attached .plan file, not really to scale) and in real life the roof overhangs the front porch making an overall gabled rectangle, however I can't figure out how to get HD to do the same.

Here's what I'm getting:

image.thumb.png.4456563842921052339ff0c791632a2c.png

Here's what I want, but without the exterior walls completing the rectangle:

image.thumb.png.332f063a86c22c7334394d769934582c.png

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

GableOnPorch.plan

So it looks like I need to have manual roof plane controls to do this (not available in my version). Is there any way to achieve what i want using the Suite 2021 version that I have? I've watched the videos and perused the knowledge bank but so far I've come up blank. They seem to reference the roof controls that I don't have.

6 hours ago, DavidJPotter said:

No this is actually simple in Suite

DJP

David,

I can't thank you enough for making this video. I never would have thought of drawing the deck railing like that and telling it to be a gable. And thanks for the extra info too, especially about the material. Once I finish making my porch I'll post up some screenshots.

• Upvote 1

On 9/13/2020 at 7:03 AM, DavidJPotter said:

No this is actually simple in Suite

DJP

David, thanks to your help I was able to get started on the porch. I've attached the updated plan file if you're interested. 

Here's a picture of what I'm trying to model (please excuse the sorry state of the house, you can see why I want to plan upgrades).