Sign in to follow this  
Joe_Mech_O

Delete floor but keep terrain

Recommended Posts

I created all my terrain details on my plan, on floor 2.  I would like to delete floor 2, but keep my terrain details somehow.  Is this possible?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Try Edit>Edit Area

 

Marquee around the terrain, Control-X to cut.

 

Go to floor 1 and Paste>Paste Hold Position.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Eric,

 

Thanks for the tip.  It seems to work in as far as moving the terrain details to the other floor, but when I go to the orthographic view, the terrain is not there.  If I undo the move, it shows up on the ortho view no problem.  Not sure how to proceed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Do you have a structure on either floor? If you have a building on floor 1, use the same method to copy it to floor 2, then delete floor 1.

 

If you are using Pro there is another way.

 

--------------

 

It helps if we know what title (Suite, Pro etc) and version (2014, 2015 etc) you are using. You can add this info to your signature by clicking on your user name at the top right of the page, click My Settings, then Signature on the left. 

 

 

Resources for self help:
 
The built in Help System (always a good place to start)
 
 
 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hey Eric,

 

Before I try moving structure from floor 1 to floor 2, then deleting floor 1, you say there is another way if I am using Pro.  I am indeed using Home Designer Pro 2016, so if there is another way (easier perhaps), I would love to try it. 

 

Thanks for your help and patience.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'd just move the structure, but in Pro, right click on the terrain perimeter after it's moved to floor 1. Select Convert Polyline, then choose Terrain Perimeter

 

This may make the program see this as a Terrain.

 

Otherwise, Edit>Edit Area>Edit Area (All Floors) to move the building to floor 2, then delete floor 1.

 

Do this in a copy of your plan just in case.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Please sign in to comment

You will be able to leave a comment after signing in



Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this