Split Slabs

Harrbru

I am brand new to Home Designer Pro, but being an engineer not to CAD.  I can not figure out how to setup different slab levels.  In the house I am designing there is to be a raised 6" slab in the middle of the house and the garage is set 7" below the house slab.  Any idea on how to do this?  I gather it is not setup to layout shear walls so I'm just breaking the wall and inserting a different color wall to differentiate.  Also since it doesn't seem to have construction lines I just use the CAD lines to temporarily set the layout and then draw over them.  Is there a better approach?

Heights are set with the Floor defaults or in your case thru the Room Specification Dialog Box (DBX) , if the raised slab isn't in the same space as a Room then define the  Slab area with invisible walls/Room divider walls to form a "room" so you can set the Rooms height.

the garage slab height you set the same way after designating the Room a "garage" in the structure tab. but use a negative value as everything is set off the main floor height of 0"   so use -6"

I am not familiar with the term "construction lines"  , you'll need to clarify or provide a sample...

tutorials on Split levels

http://www.homedesignersoftware.com/support/article/KB-00269/

http://www.homedesignersoftware.com/support/article/KB-00932/

Please add your Version and Title to you signature for easy reference , are you using 2015?

if you need to add pics or plans to your next post see my signature for a link to a how to.

M.