Ideas please

rfcomm2k

In the attached floorplan I have everything just the way I want it. But I just noticed that there is a roof problem I did not expect.

As you look at the front entry, to the right of it is a wing that is only one story high, and the way the roof lays, there is an area where the roof traps rain/snow against the second story wall (next to the second floor family room).

I just do not know how to solve this. For reasons to lengthy to explain herein the floorplan needs to remain as it is. What needs to change is the roof on that side. Any ideas on how to solve this?

Robert,

I'm not a professional architect, so take my suggestions for what they're worth ... since I'm not charging you for them, I guess you know what that means. :)

(with reference to viewing the front door) Consider mirroring the cross-ridge roof on the left over to the right, thus transferring the valley to the back 2nd story wall.  Then add a new shallow shed roof plane below the window to direct runoff toward the outside of the building envelope.  I'm not sure this will solve your egress problem, as the resulting access space to the window may be too crowded.  You may need to consider changing the layout of the one suite so that the egress window is on the exterior of the building envelope.  Maybe consider rotating the bathroom and closet counterclockwise and against the separator wall between the two bedrooms, so that both the bathroom window and the room egress window can be on the (plan) east wall.

post-251-0-53945700-1472778314_thumb.png

Good luck. :)

For reasons to lengthy to explain herein the floorplan needs to remain as it is. What needs to change is the roof on that side.

That's unfortunate, because it, in my opinion, needs lots of work.