Interior dimensions don't make sense

jeffaxelrod

I'm new to the Home Designer Suite (2015) and drew a basic outline of my house.  My existing professional architectural plans show the exterior wall thickness as 8", so I manually changed the wall thickness to exactly 8".  However, when I create a room with an 8" thick wall, and then take interior measurements, the program lists completely wrong interior measurements.  For example a room whose exterior length is 20'2" shows an interior length of 19' 7 7/8" instead of 20'2"-16" = 19'2"

I did notice when zooming in, that even exterior measurements are not taken from outer wall material edge to outer edge.  It looks like it's measuring from some interior point. 

What gives?  Is there any way to simplify so measurements work out correctly?  I know about changing dimension defaults smallest fraction, which I thought would be a good workaround, but it still gave incorrect interior dimensions.

Typical the foundation wall / basement is 8 " concrete , not the Framed wall on the main floor ( or elsewhere) , it is probably 2x6 stud  so 5 1/2 + 1/2 drywall + 1/2 ply+ 3/4" siding/stucco so about 7 1/4 " +/- depending on rainscreen etc.

20'2" -16" is 18'10"   not 19'2"  but    HD would not be counting the Plywood/OSB as it is outside the wall Main layer so subtract 14" 1/8 not 16" as it isn't measuring to the drywall either but the inside of the framing ie the Wall Layer but the interior length is probably set to measure to Wall centres which is why you have the weird 19' 7 7/8" , at a guess , try this :

Check the Edit>Default>Dimensions and see how the dimensions are being located, HD typically sets its dimensioning off the outside of the main layer of the wall , which is usually set as the framing ( not the plywood) this can be changed in the Wall Definitions in some versions of HD , not sure on Suite.  

Interior dimensions can be set to Wall Layer or Surface (drywall) in the same DBX (dialog box) or wall centres