latunn

Hi, I am new to Home Designer and am having a problem importing my terrain.  I purchased the Architectural version in order to have more terrain tools and the ability to import, as I have hilly topo on my land. The steps I am taking are:

-Open a new plan and select "Landscape & terrain" and then "Design your own"

-US (inches) units are chosen

-once open, go to File/Import/Terrain Data

-Choose to import from a csv

When I push "OK", the wizard closes and nothing appears to happen.  I check the 3D view and the lot looks flat.  The data I have came from a topo DWG (lines) that was then exported to a csv file.  The XYZ values are decimal degrees with the lines separated by a newLine and the XYZ separated by commas, like this:

There is only one point per line.

I see that the XY of the frame does not appear to be in decimal degrees, so I have tried looking into ways to change it...but I see no way to do this.  All of the google searches on this topic seem to highlight tools that are available in the PRO version or in Chief Architect, but that are not in the Architectural version.  What do I need to do to import the terrain?  The DWG came from my engineer, but I have ArcGIS and AutoCAD Civil at work and so can do some things with the DWG, if needed (I'm not that good with CAD, but I can google!!).  Any tips, tricks, or instructions to get started would be great, as I cannot design a house until I get this topo in! 

Thanks!

It sounds like to me you should have used "comma delimited" as the import criteria instead of CSV, try that and if still no joy, call Tech Support for a clarification of procedure. Frankly, I never use that method because terrain planes created via data import do come in as intended by the surveyor but also oft times the resulting terrain object is so many-faceted that most PC's have difficulty parsing 3D views of such objects due to their resulting 3D face count.