Ross-Kzoo

Save as

Recommended Posts

If I'm doing a complex change and have to sign off before I've completed my revision can I "Save As" and continue the next time and if so is the the original. before the revision, saved as it was the day before?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When you open a file, the computer loads a copy of the file into memory where you then can manipulate it using the software tools.

 

If you use the "Save" command, then the file in memory will be copied back to the file on disk, overwriting the original file's contents.

 

If you instead use a "Save As" command, then a new file on disk will be created from the file in memory.  Normally, when you use the "Save As" command, you will be prompted for a new file name under which to save it.  If you use the same file name as the original file, the software should prompt you that the file already exists and asks you if you want to save it anyway.  If you say yes, then the original file will be overwritten.  If you say no, then you will need to enter a new file name to save to.

 

Using the "Save As" command is a common method for creating different versions of a design.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's also a good way to do "As Built" (Existing), "Demolition" , and  "Proposed Plans"  (or play with different Ideas)  as you go through the different Stages as you Draw,

As HD only allows 1 Layout/Print Page per plan

 

 

M.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Please sign in to comment

You will be able to leave a comment after signing in



Sign In Now