Browneye Posted August 10 Share Posted August 10 I would love to get some help but now my plan is 31526 KB (well over what is allowed to attach). I have another plan that is no where near as detailed that is 69,750 KB!!!! I would imagine the more detailed a plan (furniture, fixtures, etc) the more file size it would be but sometimes I see my plan file size go up when I haven't done anything. Are your file sizes this large? Any tips to reduce file size? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteveCanbury Posted August 19 Share Posted August 19 Of 145 .plan files currently in my reserve, the largest is 46mb and the smallest is around 5.5mb. because of meta data, it isn't necessarily how much detail is in the plan or how many items per se', as it is how cleanly was it drawn. If you have revised the same plan 15 times, even if nothing was added (just moving cabinets and walls) all that data is still saved into your file, therefore making it a much larger file than your first revision. It is my impression that behind the scenes, the software operates as such: (not exactly, but you get the idea) draw exterior wall wall is 120" in length wall is 96" high wall materials are XXXXX XXXXX, XXXXXXX, XXXXXX, XXXXXXX delete wall note wall was deleted undo redraw wall draw exterior wall wall is 86" in length wall is 96" high wall materials are XXXXX XXXXX, XXXXXXX, XXXXXX, XXXXXXX because we have the "UNDO" function, the software essentially will note every single click you make, BUT Undoing or Deleting doesn't make information disappear (if anything it will add MORE information) it is still embedded in the file, therefore making it larger. OR AT LEAST ... that's my take on how the software works. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
y-g-m-n Posted August 20 Share Posted August 20 if that is case then they need a file cleaner aka soemthing to delete the junk not used. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Browneye Posted Monday at 05:15 PM Author Share Posted Monday at 05:15 PM I noticed that if I do a save as, then eventually the file size drops significantly. Maybe it erases some of the stored changes that allow you to use undo all the way to the start. I had one that got all the way up to 187000 KB but the same one after save as is now 48000 kb. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Please sign in to comment
You will be able to leave a comment after signing in
Sign In Now