Measurements - a real beginner question

PhilipHerlihy

I'm just starting out again on a remodelling project which had to be shelved some years ago.  I've upgraded from HD Interiors 2014 to HD Architectural 2020.  I'm also tinkering with Room Planner.

The first thing I need to do is get an accurate set of reference measurements!

I've invested in a Bluetooth laser measure (Leica Disto D2 - works well), and I've tried out three apps with it.

1. ImageMeter Pro (under £4) works really well - it's quick and easy to annotate photos of the site with measurements.
  2. Leica Disto Plan (free for what I need).  The "Sketch on Photo" facility works well (though I prefer ImageMeter).  Problem:  I've tried the "Sketch Plan" facility and I found it a real struggle to achieve the definitive "reference" set of measurements I want to be able to return to.  Every measurement I input seems to change others already entered.  That's after several attempts at my first room!  I did have "snapping" turned on, but that seemed to make it worse.  Without snapping, drawing a passable shape, then entering the measurements produces a recognisable but crazy version of the initial sketch (as the app tries to draw it to scale) but without the assumption that walls which were initially sketched at 90° to each other have to stay that way!  At least the figures stay as entered - I've become fearful of relying on measurements which were actually changed by the app's idiosyncracies.